Balance Pot vs. Blend Pot, Same or Different?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Gabe7539, Aug 20, 2017.

1. Gabe7539

Gabe7539

Jan 18, 2016
    Hello, I am a newbie to active basses. I'm a big fan of Rudy Sarzo/Billy Sheehan and I'm considering buying an inexpensive active 5 string bass and then upgrading it with a set of Sims pickups like the new sig. model Sarzo just had made. I've seen many active basses advertised with "balance" and "blend" pots. My understanding of a blend pot is that it adjusts the amount of signal being outputted by all pickups simultaneously, like the extreme ends would be exclusively one pickup and then in the middle would be a mix of the pickups. I have no idea what a balance pot does.

I believe the ideal setup for me would be 1 volume, 1 balance or blend, 3 band EQ and an active/passive switch.

My question is are balance/blend different words to describe the same tool or do they do different things entirely? Feel free to school me, I need to learn this stuff.

2. LUpton

LUpton Supporting Member

Oct 22, 2012
    Tampa, FL
    Probably too old for this sh--
    Same thing...

3. Killed_by_Death

Killed_by_Death Snaggletooth Inactive

I prefer volume + volume, because there is less loading & there are certain things a balance/blend cannot do. i.e. one pickup at 90% volume & the other at 70% volume.
    When you turn the balance/blend you're just decreasing one, while the other stays on 100%, but TBH it's not really 100% in the center, because of the loading due to the resistance in the blend/balance pot.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQWSuILUPSgGPISph2fWV6IoRm_KlCw71PmmiFxx_MuFMEhHzUPdaFNaqVobQ.png
    This ^ is a blend pot wiring diagram

and this is the underlying schematic:

upload_2017-8-20_14-9-1.png

Last edited: Aug 20, 2017
  4. Gabe7539

Gabe7539

Jan 18, 2016