Balanced tension - it's for real

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by onda'bass, Aug 22, 2018.

1. onda'bass

onda'bass Supporting Member

Sep 5, 2010
    Buffalo Ny
    So I have been doing the BT thing for a few years and recently made a deviation to try a brand that was not balanced. Well maybe I'm sensitive, but I noticed big time. Not so much on the left hand but the right was like why are the middle string slightly harder to play that the outer ones. Just my 2 cents on the issue, sorry if this is a repeat thread on the subject. :thumbsup:

2. Here's my take on it as a former "balanced tension enthusiast"...
    • Some factory sets are noticeably uneven to the point I can definitely feel it under the plucking fingers, especially a tight D. I tend to avoid those.
    • Some factory sets are more balanced in terms of the actual playing feel than the tension numbers might suggest.
    • Balanced tension doesn't always guarantee balanced tone.
    • Tension charts are a useful tool in the process of determining what may or may not work for me, but it's only one of the many factors involved, so I try not to get too hung up on the numbers.
    Not Even Tension - Even Tone!

MattZilla, CapnSev and TomB like this.
  3. onda'bass

Sep 5, 2010
    Buffalo Ny
    I agree with most of what your are saying. I know the reason those traditional sets exist and am willing to accept some tonal variance to have even play ability. that being said I don't think its that noticeable

4. I've spent the last five years in my never-ending search for that perfect set of strings. It's a process of trial and error to find just the right blend of balanced tension (how they feel) and balanced tone (how they sound). What works for you may not work for me, or vice versa. String selection is such a personal thing.

JimmyM and onda'bass like this.
  5. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Yamaha, Ampeg, Line 6, EMG