1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bamboo Bass?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by spacemagician, Apr 14, 2010.

1. spacemagician

spacemagician

Apr 14, 2010
    Is a bamboo bass guitar possible? Will it suck? I will likely try to make one even if it is terrible, so my main question is: How? How should I make it? Thanks. Keep in mind that I have no experience with woodworking, instrument making or anything. Thanks!

2. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:bassist:

3. It may work... but it'll probably have pretty RATTAN sound quality to it.

har har

4. spacemagician

spacemagician

Apr 14, 2010
    XD I assume you're laughing at the fact that I am undergoing a pretty tough project considering that I have no experience. It's laughable, I understand.

5. spacemagician

spacemagician

Apr 14, 2010
    Lol but how could I do it? I actually have some pretty general questions like how to install a truss rod. I assume that I would need one because of how bendy bamboo is.

6. snyderz

snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    Bamboo is for Pandas! Actually, just cover the top of your bass with bamboo flooring material, and VOILA!

7. ccmbassplayer

ccmbassplayer

Feb 14, 2010
    Parma, Ohio
    LOL!! Sorry, I dont mean any offense.. but just the way you said that was frickin Great !! LOL!!!!

Classic !!!

8. lx_night

lx_night

Sep 3, 2008
    Oklahoma city
    i dont think bamboo would create a pleasant sounding bass. plus bamboo is not hard enough

9. ccmbassplayer

ccmbassplayer

Feb 14, 2010
    Parma, Ohio
    He is NOT trying to make a Violin.. and that is NOT how you spell Violin. ;):D

10. standupright

standupright

Jul 7, 2006
    Phoenix, AZ
    Brownchicken Browncow
    you could order a neck and finger/fret board from warmoth and build your bass around that.

11. ccmbassplayer

ccmbassplayer

Feb 14, 2010