Band Drama, great googly-moogly

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by sb69coupe, Aug 30, 2005.

1. sb69coupe

Aug 9, 2004
    Raleigh NC
    Man, our lead guitarist has unleashed the massive tidal wave of band drama with his latest "motivational" email. Please bear with me as I vent.

We're all a bunch of 35-40 year old dudes who got together to have fun and play music. We all have pretty stressful day jobs, young kids, and other commitments. The band is a nice escape from the drudgery. The lead guitarist and I have many years of prior experience with formal lessons, played in bands in HS and college, etc. The drummer had played quite a bit in college too, and the rhythm guitarist really hasn't played prior to this, other than just playing around the house, etc. The rhythm player stepped in to fill in once our original rhythm player bailed out. He's been a quick study, but has no formal musical background. The drummer has zero time to practice other than at band rehearsal, due to his job and family situation.

Fast forward to today. The lead guitar player and I have been discussing our lack of progress, getting "tight", and getting ready for an upcoming gig at end of October. We haven't been rehearsing much in the last month, due to other conflicts, but things usually come together once we get into gear. So, in his typical tactless way, he managed to offend the rhythm player by telling him that he was unprepared and needed to practice more, and telling the drummer that he needed to "step it up".