Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Band Drama

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by John Ruiz, Dec 10, 2002.

1. John Ruiz

John Ruiz

Oct 9, 2000
    Plano, Tx
    I have been playing in a band for 3 years, and it has just sort of come to be my routine to go to practice twice a week, jam and have fun with my bandmates, and play an occasional show. The reason I tolerate the fact that we really don't play that often (I've been in the band for 3 years, and played maybe 20 shows) is because I am friends with my bandmates and I really dig the music. But now, our singer is quitting and when I couldn't come up with a single counter point to any of his reasons, it got me to thinking. The band really isn't ever going to go anywhere, barely anyone in our own home town (Dallas, Tx) knows who we are, but those who do wonder why we hardly play, and why no one else is at our shows besides the same 10 people. The guitarist and drummer seem perfectly content with that, and just enjoy jamming in practice, which is fine for them, but I am the youngest member of the band at 23 falling a good 7 years short of the next youngest and 14 years short of the oldest. I would like to "make it" in music if the opportunity is there.