1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Band problems involving doing a gig for free.

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Alan Vorse, Sep 16, 2008.

1. I started playing in a cover band in September '05. Around February of '07, I told them I was leaving. At this point, the band was made up mostly of guys in their 40s with professional jobs who wanted to play out once a month. I wanted to do something original while I was still young(ish).

After I filled in for them at a gig last Summer, we amicably decided that if they got a gig, they'd call and see if I was available and if the money was good, I'd do the gig, but not come to weekly rehearsals. Sort of an auxillary member.

Between last Halloween and now, they have done one gig, however it was successful and now they want to get agressive about more bookings. In that down-time, I have moved up a few notches and now play in a total of 5 bands with a gig or rehearsal nearly every night of the week, plus fielding freelance calls.

They want to play a charity gig that is part of a marathon (we play next to course the runners are on) in hopes of getting exposure, but it is for free.

I told them about a month ago that because I was so busy and that the gig didn't pay that I was going to pass, but now I'm getting emails trying to persuade me to change my mind.

They're nice enough guys and the material is kind of so-so (popular rock from the 60s to today) but I don't know. Would you take the gig?

2. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    Song Surgeon slow downer. https://tinyurl.com/y5dcuqjg
    Pass.
    Unless they're going to be handing out promo material to runners as they go by. :rollno:

Who's going to hear them? Actually, who will be the audience? The runners? The crowd? The organizers?