Band Rehersal Amps

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by HardRockZombie, Jul 4, 2002.

1. HardRockZombie

Jul 4, 2002
    I'm looking at picking up a new combo amp and I was wondering what the suggested minimal wattage is for practising with a drummer and guitarist.
    I'm not planning on gigging with this amp but just band rehersal.

Also Does any one have anything bad or good to say about Ibanez amps?
  2. Gabu

Jan 2, 2001
    Woodland Hills, CA
    I don't know Ibanez amps... But I am wondering:

What kind of music do you play?

What kind of gear does the guitarist, drummer, and singer have?

How much money can you spend?

Answering these questions will help people to help you.
  3. HardRockZombie

Jul 4, 2002
    the guitar players a total newbie i think he's playing a 50- 100 watt amp, noot real sure,
    I have no i dea about the drummers kit.

We'll likely start off playing easy stuff like new punk, a little modern rock, but i'm hoping to bring them around to more pixies style stuff.
  4. HardRockZombie

Jul 4, 2002
    and i wanna spend around 300 bucks
  5. Captain Awesome

Captain Awesome

Apr 2, 2001
    Don't worry about a minimum wattage, wattage does not matter nearly as much as speaker quality and overall sound. A 50w amp could easily be louder than a 100w amp for example.
    As far as Ibanez amps, my understanding is that the Ibanez amps are cheap practice amps that would have a high suck factor when rehearsing with a rock band. For $300 you could get a USED combo that would not only be good enough to make rehearsal fun but you could even gig with it when the time comes. Check the TB classifieds and Ebay to start with.
  6. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego