1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Band wants to audition me, help!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Murmaider, Oct 30, 2013.

1. Murmaider

Murmaider

Oct 20, 2013
    I've only had my bass for 3 days. Still, I've memorized the minor, harmonic minor, and hungarian minor scale shapes and stuff.

But anyways, this guy wants to audition me as their bassist (they play relatively simple deathcore sort of stuff, breakdowns and the like) and I'm not sure I can cut it. Even if I can technically get their songs down, I'm still very inexperienced as a bassist, I mean I've had the damn thing for 3 days! I'm just confused on whether this is a good idea or not!

I'm not expecting to make the band, but it would be nice to play with other people and learn the instrument in a musical setting instead of by myself in my room. I just don't know if its a good idea to go through with this.

Maybe I should just apply the "nothing to lose" mentality?

2. deathsdj

deathsdj

Sep 18, 2010
    Wichita, KS
    Do it. You do have nothing to lose and lots to gain. If nothing else you will probably learn something.

Do it.

Cheers!

MJW

3. spaz21387

spaz21387

Feb 25, 2008
    Portland oregon
    I agree do it. I jumped into a band back in highschool after owning a bass for 2 weeks.

4. AaronVonRock

AaronVonRock

Feb 22, 2013
    Bangkok
    If you know Hungarian minor scale shapes and stuff, you'll be fine.

5. QweziRider

QweziRider Supporting Member

Sep 15, 2008
    Northern Nevada, U.S.
    Go for it. You have nothing to lose. I had my first gig a million years ago about a week after picking up my first bass. You can do it!

6. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    the Cali Intergalctic Mind Space
    Song Surgeon slow downer software- full 4 hour demo