Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bang for the buck - best basses under $700...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by David Studenick, Apr 19, 2002.

1. I'm a relative newbie to bass playing (9 months) but have 25 years of G****R playing experience. I'm looking for a better axe, but don't have a load of cash to spend.

Here's what I'm looking for:

5 string
    35" scale
    Active electronics
    Pickup pan control instead of separate volumes
    MSRP around $1,000 or less

I'm pretty much leaning towards a Schecter Stiletto Studio 5 which is pretty well loaded up, but I haven't found any reviews on it. Apparently it's a fairly new bass.

I'm also considering a Lakland Skyline 55-01 but I'm loathe to plunk down for one unless I get a chance to play it. I'm gonna have to make a 100 mile road trip to the nearest Lakland dealer. I've read the neck is a tad chunky and I have fairly small hands so this is a concern.

Washburn 2502 is also in the running but the only color for the 5-string is butt-heinous ugly IMO.

So, any feedback on the above models?

Any recommendations for cool basses in my price range to check out?

2. I'm looking for something that's versatile and has a lot of different tone combinations. Essentially a "do-it-all" bass.

3. Reverend Rumblefish 5L. I have some pretty nice instruments and the 'fish is the least expensive among them, but it easily holds its own. The only negative for some people would be its slightly unconventional looks. Other than that, this bass has incredible bang for the buck.
    http://www.reverendmusical.com

4. ldiezman

ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001
    Nashville
    David..