1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Basic Blues & Funk

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by 707GK, May 5, 2015.

1. 707GK

707GK

Jun 13, 2013
    Northern California
    Hello,
    I have been playing bass for about 15 years now and would consider myself a pretty good rock bass player (not nearly the best bass player but also not nearly the worst), but I'm 100% self taught, can't read music, play entirely by ear, & have very limited knowledge of theory. I've been asked recently to play with a blues/funk band. I'm looking at getting:

Amazon.com: Blues Bass - A Guide to the Essential Styles and Techniques: Hal Leonard Bass Method Stylistic Supplement (Book & CD) (0073999715866): Ed Friedland: Books

And was wondering if anyone has any other good suggestions. I want to pretend like I have never picked up a bass before in my entire life and am learning how to play the bass for the first time, choosing blues as the style I want to learn. I want to start from the ground-up & pretend I have zero idea of what I'm doing.

I know that reading music is a good skill to have, but unfortunately at this time, that's not what I'm going for. I'm mostly interested in re-training some of my habits. Not that I am against reading music, but this band doesn't play from sheet music so I think learning a new technique will be more beneficial. So a book that comes with a CD or some other kind of audio supplement would be most beneficial.

Thanks for reading.

-Mike

2. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    The Ed Friedland book you linked is one of the best for learning the basics of blues. Besides that book, I'd recommend that you listen to artists/bands like early Fleetwood Mac/Buddy Guy/John Mayall's Bluesbreakers/BB, Freddy and Albert King/Paul Butterfield Blues Band and Johnny Winter...to name but a few.