Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Basic folksy sound

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Jim Coates, Jan 10, 2003.

1. I play Southern mountain music weekly with 3 other guys on a porch, unamplified. My job is to add the bottom and not get fancy. I mostly play roots/fifths on an Engelhardt, and I've been doing this and enjoying it for about 1&1/2 years. I have used Supernils, which have a pleasant boomy quality, but not loud enough; Helicore Pizzacato lights, which sound too thin and growly for our music; and the Super Sensitive Reds which came with the bass. I like Reds E&A much better than the Pizzacatos, particularly the A, because they sound deeper and stronger and don't have the jazzy growl of the Pizz. The difference might be just that the Reds are mediums, I think, whereas the Pizz are thins. Now I want to get a D&G pair which have a deep, strong quality. I think my needs are rather simple. I am not concerned with sustain or tonal definition or projection, and I'm not going to be bowing or slapping. The sound can be thumpy or not. The string tension is not important except that I'd like to be able to dig in to get that little extra bit of volume. I can make adjustments if needed for diameter. I'm thinking of trying guts.
    I've been reading these string strings for about a year and I've learned a lot, but I have some questions. What is the difference between a wrapped gut like Oliv and a plain gut. Is one bigger sounding than the other? Do guts sound folksier than Obligatos? My buddy thinks I should try the LaBella black nylon tape but I haven't seen anything good said about them. I know the rule of thumb is to try 'em all, but I'm hoping some of the folks here will share any thoughts on a basic folk sound. I did a seach on 'folk' and found people liking guts, Dominants, and Obli's. Thanks for any suggestions, Jim

2. godoze

godoze

Oct 21, 2002