Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Basic Questions

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by GreenMachine, Apr 30, 2005.

1. GreenMachine

GreenMachine

Apr 30, 2005
    Hey guys. Ive been playin for about 10 months and have self taught myself with minor help from guitar playin friends. So i know squat. A few things that have been bothering me is i get a scraping sound comming from my pick when i play those notes where theres 3 notes joined together (TAB im talkin about, u get them alot in maiden songs). Is this my pick style, am i holding it the wrong way? Ive tried to correct it by arm hand lower down, or is it just a natural sound i think sounds wrong?

also my E string broke when i first got my bass. i put a new string in but ever since when i play it open or on the first fret it vibrated and makes a clanging sound as it hits the frets. its in tune so the string isnt loose and im posative its in correctly.

Thanks if u can help. I love bass but unfortunantly i know nothin about it. (cpet how to play) :)

2. ireidt

ireidt

Mar 6, 2005
    Florida
    you dont have the string tight enough on your bass, IMO, try getting a electronic tuner if you can't tune by ear, and that might help.

For the picking problem, I would say try hitting the sting with the top portion of your pick, it might stop that sound, I wont know until I get home though.

~~Isaac~~

3. Probably raising the saddle for that string will fix it. My guess is that it's a different thickness than the original string, and so it requires a slightly different setup. I'd take the oppurtunity to set my entire bass up if I were you.

4. GreenMachine

GreenMachine

Apr 30, 2005
    yea i use an electric tuner. most likely its a different thinkness to the original one cos i have tuned it heaps of times to make sure it was tought enough and i even took the string out and put it in again.