1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Basic scale query

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Depth_Charge, Dec 10, 2006.

1. I'm a theory noob and know even less about scales etc, but
    I've started learning and am looking at the C Major scale (the only scale in my book) but by applying the WWHWWWH formula I applied it to the other notes and came up with this:

C - C D E F G A B C
    D - D E F# G A B C C#
    E - E F# G# A B C# D# E
    F - F G A A# C D E F
    G - G A B C D E F# G
    A - A B C# D E F# G# A
    B - B C# D# E F# G# A# B

Is this correct? I've gone over it 3 times and think it is right, but I'm left with both the F and G scales having 1 sharp each and I wasn't expecting that.

What am I doing wrong? Thanks for your time on this very basic question...feel free to laugh :)

2. Poop-Loops

Poop-Loops Banned

Mar 3, 2006
    Auburn, Washington
    Looks right to me. I mean, when in doubt, bust out your bass and apply your scale patterns, and look at which note your finger falls on along the way.

D is wrong though. It's D E F# G A B C# D

3. You can't have two A's in a scale ie A and A# - this would be a Bb - google the circle of 5ths and check it out.

4. Zebra

Zebra

Jun 26, 2005
    Looks right except for D. Although if you use proper convention, you never have both a natural note and its accidental (like C and C#) in the same scale. So F should technically have one flat (Bb,) not one sharp. The Circle of Fifths is a great way to get the scales drilled into your head with the right notation too.

5. cowsgomoo

cowsgomoo gone to Longstanton Spice Museum

Feb 8, 2003
    UK