Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass 101 Questions

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by lildrgn, Dec 27, 2000.

1. lildrgn

lildrgn

Jul 11, 2000
    Seattle, WA
    I've been playing bass for about 15 years. Even with that experience, I find myself with questions that I should have had answered years ago. So, without further adieu, here are some off the top of my head.

1. On a preamp, what is the effects loop and how is it utilized?

2. Active vs Passive. I realize Active pickups use batteries and Passive do not. But other than that, what is the difference?

I'm sure there are other "beginner" questions out there. Let's hear some of them!

2. dot74

dot74

Aug 24, 2000
    I am learning the major scales and chords/arpeggios and how they intergrate with each other to actually make some music. My question is this: What is the chromatic scale? I figure once this question is answered, I can then begin with figuring out the chords and stuff. Or I might post more questions.....

3. lildrgn

lildrgn

Jul 11, 2000
    Seattle, WA
    Well, the non-musical explanation is that a chromatic scale includes every note of the scale. For example, if you start on the open A of your bass, to go up chromatically you would go A A#/Bb B C C#/Db D D#/Eb E, etc. That's the best way I can explain it; I'm sure someone else will have a better way.

Bass is great!

Oh yeah, hey Dot74, didn't you contact me about my band a while back? We're playing New Year's Eve at the Rainbow Bar and Grill (www.therainbow.cc) in the University District. Come on down!

4. dj falkroy

dj falkroy

Dec 27, 2000