Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass advancement and research

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Like a big dog, Oct 2, 2002.

1. Like a big dog

Like a big dog

Jun 18, 2001
    Texas, USA
    Hello

I am trying to find out some information on what is currently being done to advance the science of bass, and all guitars, for that matter. Company websites aren't good for that, since I guess they think they are keeping secrets, but I am interested in what work is being done. I am a mechanical engineering student, and I am trying to find something to write a mock research proposal on. If you have any suggestions on the advancement of musical technology, they will be greatly appreciated. Or if you have a random topic to suggest, I'll chase after those too. I am truely just looking for a place to start. This is a subject that interests me, and I really want to learn more. I have only been playing bass for a year now, but don't be afraid to use technical terms. I'll look them up.

Thanks
    Chris

2. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    California
    You really can't put guitarists and bassists in the same category because they have different demands. Bassists, as a group, have always been more willing to accept innovations than guitarists.

Check out Basslabs basses, they're pretty close to the cutting edge. Lightwave pickups too.

This is an interesting question to as in the "Ask the luthiers" section. They probably stay on top of this stuff every day.

3. Like a big dog

Like a big dog

Jun 18, 2001
    Texas, USA
    Ok, thanks.

I'll transfer it over to that forum.

4. Blackbird

Mar 18, 2000
    California
    Well, you can keep the question general over here, but make it specific to basses for the luthiers, since that's what they're in business for.