Bass Advice Please!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Sylissa, Jan 11, 2018.

1. Sylissa

Sylissa

Dec 6, 2017
    Hello All!

I've been playing bass for a few years. I had a custom short scale 5-string built a couple of years back. As I my skills have improved, I realized that the intonation of the B string is really crappy. So I got out my sweetie's 1981 G&L (L-2000) double pick ups and active electronics. It sounds JUST GREAT and I'm getting around on it just fine. But it weighs almost 11# and it's a 4 string.

I hear G&L is making an empress body that's really light, but can't find one online anywhere with cominbation color/5-string that I want.

So *IF* I were to place a special order, which pick-up combo is closest my old G&L? [Is it the L-2500 or the M-2500 and how is the sound different?] I live in a rural area, and even guitar center 3 hours away doesn't stock basses over $800!

In your opinion, passive or active electronics? I'm not a fast or flashy player, I don't slap yet.

What's the sound difference (1 PU vs 2 PU) between the L-2500 and the L-1505 and the Kiloton 5?

How is the B string, sound and intonation especially when I'm playing in closed positions at and above the 5th fret? Is is flabby or does it hold up?

Candid opinions of big-brainy-bass players are greatly appreciated! :)

Last edited: Jan 11, 2018
  2. Reedt2000

Reedt2000 Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2017
    Central New Jersey
    I can't answer all your questions but I picked up a tribute L2500 and I have no problems with the B string being intonated or floppy. I like the electronics set up too. I like each PU solo but I prefer both together. It strikes me as a cross between a jazz bass and a Stingray tone-wise.

Sylissa likes this.
  3. jd56hawk

jd56hawk

Sep 12, 2011
    The Garden State
    You want a bass with a pickup combination like your L2500 but you don't want an L2500?