bass advocate

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by kiwlm, Oct 15, 2003.

1. I am a beginner guitarist player, trying to learn bass to form a band with my friends (most of my friends do only guitars).

I would like to know all logical and emotional reasons why bass kicks ass! So that I have got something to say in return when my friends tell me "bass is easy, most guitar players can play bass" kind of stuffs...

As I said, logical or emotional... bring it on! ;)
  2. Well think about it, you see a band, what do you groove along to eh?

To me bass can be soulfull, or it can be thunderous and bring doom up through the floor. All without the use of a million effects or a huge spotlight.

Bass can be mighty difficult to master. Depends on how far you want to take it. If you want to play just the root notes, then fine... but aim to play them well.

For me the bass doesnt follow the guitar line. Nor does it follow the drums. It follows BOTH. In my metal band it could be very easy to say "well the guitars are too intense, i'll follow that kick drum" But no, i learn the guitar line and then see how it incorporates with the drums. I then find a happy medium in between. If the guitars go off doing their own thing, the bass follows the drums.. if the guitars need depth... then the bass follows the guitars.

Without the bass in a band the music is just plain thin.

Next time someone says "yeah but the bass is easy" get them to play it. My guitarist picks up my bass from time to time. He looks like a guitarist trying to play a bass. Pick it a mile away.......

3. my favorite way to think about it is this.

Bass is easier to learn the bassics of, but much harder to master.

Guitar is harder to learn the basics, but easier to get seemingly great at.

If all guitar players can play bass so well why are bands far more commonly looking for a decent bass player than a decent guitar player.

4. mz91

Apr 19, 2002
    Zug, Switzerland