1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass amp 100w

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Supertonic, Dec 30, 2011.

1. Supertonic

Supertonic

Dec 30, 2011
    Hello. I'm new to talkbass. I don't know much about amplifiers, but I need one for my bass. I should be at least 100 watts or more. Preferably around $300 or less. I could go as high as $400. It also needs to sound good with a 5 string.
    Any help would be appreciated.

2. Ewo

Ewo a/k/a Steve Cooper Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2008
    Huntington WV
    I'm guessing you're new to the instrument, and this would be your first amp...

Why dontcha spend some time on Musician's Friend, getting familiar with what's available, then search the bass guitar forum here for threads about rigs that interest you and fit your budget?

3. Foamy

Foamy

Jun 26, 2006
    Sac Area
    100w is pretty lightweight, and you can get a lot more power than that in your price range.
    Are you looking for an amp you can use in your bedroom for noodling? For rehearsals? For gigs?

4. Research is a good start, but nothing beats going to a bunch of stores and trying amps out. Some you will like, some you wont.

5. Supertonic

Supertonic

Dec 30, 2011
    This is not my first amp. I've been playing since around 2007. My amp was just a cheap thing I picked up at a music store for 50 bucks. I'm looking for an amp that I can use for practicing, but mainly for rehearsals/gigs.
    My current amp is hardly ever used now, because for practices/gigs, my band's drummer brings an amp. I only said 100w because I thought that would fit my needs, but like I said, I don't really know that much about amps.

The main thing is that it's loud enough for rehearsals.

6. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    the Cali Intergalctic Mind Space