1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bass amp for studio

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Gabazz, Mar 17, 2018.

1. Gabazz

Gabazz

Mar 17, 2018
    I am a guitarist and I am building a home studio. I used to use my brothers gear but now I moving out.

I just got a bass guitar and I would like to add an amp. I would like the amp to have a great tone primarily to be used for recording. I've used DI and a few budget amps. I enjoy amp tones blended with DI.

I would like the amp to have enough volume to be able to use my home studio for a band practice if needed so preferably something that can keep up with a drummer. (even though I could work around with this with the 2 rooms and using mics, but a louder amp would make my life easier).

I think I prefer the tone of 10" speakers, but would not exclude 12". 15" I'm not sure. Which replacement speakers would you recommend for future use.

Budget for setup (Head & cab or Combo) is under 500 Euro preferably, but willing to extend to the absolute limit of 800 if there is really a great amp beyond my budget that will have a huge impact on tone. I have a very limited access to used gear so most of the gear I'm going to have to buy new.

2. moogieotter

moogieotter Custom Title

Jun 16, 2009
    Duluth, GA
    Get that SWR Baby Blue on Reverb!

Ric Vice likes this.
  3. Gabazz

Gabazz

Mar 17, 2018
    thanks for your reply. Here there is no reverb.

4. moogieotter

moogieotter Custom Title

Jun 16, 2009
    Duluth, GA
    Where are you?

5. Gabazz

Gabazz

Mar 17, 2018
    Malta (Europe)

DrummerwStrings likes this.
  6. Gabazz

Gabazz

Mar 17, 2018
    Its a pitty SWR have been shelved, they head great products!

vickerekes and Low84 like this.
  7. 12BitSlab

12BitSlab Supporting Member

Nov 28, 2016