Bass Amp Setup For A Beginner *please Help Me*

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassbillybob, Jun 6, 2001.

1. bassbillybob

Jun 6, 2001
    Hi! ive been playing bass for a few years now, always used a 160 watt combo. just joined a band and i need a bigger deeper sound. im planning on buying an amp and a cabinet. thats what i need right? if im not gonna be using a combo? so if i get a say 300 watt amp and a 2x15 cab then that will be cool yeh??? please help me, music shop people intimidate me. i would love to be a little educated before i go in there. thanks!
  2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

billybob - Welcome to where all we "deep" people congregate!

The real questions before I can give you a useable answer, are;

- what kind of money are you looking to spend ?

- what kind of bass do you have, (espec. number of strings)?

- what kind of music do you play?, (e.g., hard rock, competing with a Les Paul through a Marshall stack, or wedding music with a guitar through just a Fender twin?)

As a generic answer, a good value with good volume is a Carvin R600 or R1000 head, (600W/1000W respectively) through one of their 4x10"s and their 15". That's in the $1300 neighborhood, plus shipping (they're mail order unless you live in S. California).
  3. White_Knight

Mar 19, 2000
    One rule of thumb is to have 3x-4x the wattage of your guitarist (so if he has a 100 watt Marshall, you should have something in the 300-400 watt range). Remember that a really low, thick sound takes huge ammounts of power to produce. As far as speakers and cabinents, do some searches and check out what people have had to say there. I prefer 15" speakers for their depth of sound and warmness.

Heed Rickbass1's advice.
    Other good bass amps (though they are certainly more expensive; but worth it in my opinion) and cabinents are made by:

Gallien Krueger -
    SWR Engineering -
    *Eden Electronics -
    Hartke Systems -