Bass Amp suggestions

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by fonqueman, Mar 30, 2001.

1. fonqueman

Jul 5, 2000
    Fellow Bassists,
    Bass Amps. Where to begin? I'm a sucessful bassist that has just recently obtained the means to purchase a new rig. I just received my new Warwick Thumb Thru 4-string, and damn!!! However to do such a masterful bass creation justice, I'm in the market for a new amp. I've played through different heads, cabs, and combos and found that I favor a more high-end sound. A friend owns a Carvin 18" and it's just too muddy sounding for me. Top that 18" with a Hartke 4x10 and I'm a happier man! I'm looking for suggestions on what type to get, combo, head/cab, and manufacturers. I've looked at SWR, BagEnd, Hartke, Gallien-Krueger. I'm familiar with pricing for the most part, I just need YOUR help to decide on what sound would work best for a bassist that slaps, pops, hammers, plucks, taps and funks his way around charts and enjoys solid mid-range and high-end as well as some rumbling low-end. Thanks to all for your help!
  2. MikeyD

Sep 9, 2000
    I play funk, soul, R&B, and jazz. I use Fender P and J basses, and I like the full-range sound. The variety of styles I play require the amp to do a good job reproducing the P-bass thump (Jamerson, Prestia, and others) as well as J-bass slap (Marcus Miller, Nathaniel Phillips, etc.).

I recently auditioned an Eden D-410XLT, and it seemed close to perfect for a 4-string P-bass by itself. However, I also play a 5-string, and as in your case, I want serious rumble on the bottom. If you haven't already, see my posts in the thread, "Eden 215XLT anyone": ( It describes the rig I'm using now. I also did a review of the 215XLT in the Reviews section. Everyone has different personal preferences, but I want my amp to give me an accurate and traditional sound. Hope you find what you're looking for!

- Mike

BTW: I also have the Carvin 1x18, and I agree: it does not satisfy the need by itself.