1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bass amp suggestions

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by benchbass, Mar 11, 2013.

1. benchbass

benchbass

Mar 17, 2010
    Calgary Alberta
    Hello all, I was hoping to get some advice in purchasing a bass amplifier.

I am in a band with a few mates of mine, but my current amp isn't cutting it when I'm at my drummers place for practices. So I am looking for a good loud amp so I can be heard in the mix. I am a student right now so affordability is a deciding factor as well. Also, if possible it would be great if it wasn't incredibly heavy so I could haul it around from my drummers house to mine.

I don't know if it is unrealistic to try to find an affordable, lightweight, loud, combo amp, but I thought you guys would be the ones who could give me advice!

Ethan

2. Light, Loud, Cheap.

Pick two.

3. Plucky The Bassist

Plucky The Bassist ZOMG! I'm back from the dead! Supporting Member

Jul 30, 2010
    Houston, TX
  4. Speakers are your friend.........

Having the right amount of speakers moving air gets you louder then a high powered amp into not enough speakers.

5. +1

6. guy n. cognito

guy n. cognito Secret Agent Member Gold Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2005
    Nashville, TN
    What are you currently using?

7. benchbass

benchbass

Mar 17, 2010
    Calgary Alberta
    I have a gk 100w 1x10"

8. benchbass

benchbass

Mar 17, 2010
    Calgary Alberta
    So I should hook up to some cabinets to get louder?

9. Depending on your budget, I would be looking at a 300-500 watt head and to start one 115, with the idea of adding a second matching one. Shopping used will be your budget's friend.

10. kenstee

kenstee

Oct 9, 2009
    Suggest you look for something used. or on ebay. You'll do much, much better for cost than getting something new.