1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

bass and drums

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by qcbassman, Oct 25, 2013.

1. qcbassman

qcbassman

Jan 12, 2013
    USA
    If you wish, you can read my first paragraph for the background info; otherwise, you can just skip to my question in the second paragraph. Thanks!

I'm very new to the bass (less than a year) and I've reached that point in my playing that I'm trying to do too much and basically I sound less like a bassist than I do a musician who happens to be playing the bass (my main axe is saxophone). I asked for some recent feedback from someone I was playing with and they said I need to listen to the bass drum more and get more in the illusive "pocket". I think I know what the pocket is - I think I could hear the pocket before I ever became a bass player or knew what it was - one day I realized that the sustain that was coming with the bass drum kicks wasn't actually the drum set but the bass player lining up his/her note attacks with the bass drum hits. I am also currently in that area where I'm probably trying to do too much, thus making myself sound like a guitar player with a bass. This probably comes from listening to a lot of praise and worship music, because that's what I'm rehearsing for church on Sundays. Probably trying to copy the recordings too much. At any rate, I'll quit babbling and get to the question(s).

If you feel so inclined, would you mind recommending some bass players I could listen to that play like drummers, lock in well with drummers and are known to be good, solid, reliable sidemen/pocket players?

Thanks in advance!

2. bassdog

bassdog

May 23, 2005
    Atlanta, Ga