Bass around $500

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Secondhandloser, Apr 19, 2005.

1. Secondhandloser

Mar 28, 2005
    All right, I'm looking to replace my Thunderbird, and I'd like to get another bass for around $500, and my problem is, I know exactly what I want, but I can't find a bass that meets what I am looking for. I'm willing to save up more and get a more expensive bass, but I don't want to blow $3000 on a custom.
    I'm looking for a bass with an ash body, preferably available in red or white, with either a Peavey T40 esque, guild pilot, or some "standard" look ( ie, P or J bass), but light, with a thin neck, as in from palm to fretboard, with J bass style string spacing. I could probably build something like this myself, but as I have never done it before it would be nice to see if there is a production model like this. Thanks.
  2. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Not ash, but how about Ibanez Soundgears?
  3. Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Or an ash ibanez SRX700 or something.
  4. Quadzilla

Quadzilla Supporting Member

5. form52

Mar 17, 2005
    Click Here.
    I played more than a few of these over the last month or two and must say that I was pretty impressed with the quality and sound.
    Definately some of the best sounding basses for their price range.
    I ordered a Stilleto Studio 6 last Thursday. I was REALLY impressed with it. I'm getting it through Guitar Center for about $600 (not the price you'll get it for though. You'll probably end up paying about $700 for that one, mine was lower because I ordered an SVT-5 Pro and a new 4x10 cab with it so it was knocked a bit lower) You should be able to talk someone into getting the price on most of them pretty low. There are a couple to stay away from though. Like the Stilleto Delux and Omen models. They sounded plastic to me. Definately worth looking in to though.
  6. +1 on a Schecter CV-4. Try a C-4 too, the neck is a little thicker but I really like both basses.