1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bass as a Compositional Tool

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by NullPorch, Jun 18, 2017.

1. So I'm in a sort of band / musical project thing with a guitarist buddy of mine and he's composed most of our stuff so far with me being the one who more or less refines his ideas. Meaning he comes up with the key and changes and the bare bones structure and then in jamming it out I've usually been the one to refine the rhythms and over all song structure. I mean it's very collaborational and we talk that all out (the only thing I do completely on my own is lyrics), but I'm usually the idea guy for the fine details.

However, I do compose stuff as well, but perhaps because I'm a bassist and thus don't automatically think in terms of chords but rather general keys I tend to play very riffy stuff and thus far we haven't done anything with the stuff I've come up with. I can, even from a simple starting riff, compose an entire piece (sans full guitar chords that aren't simple power chords) with different main riff / hook, verse, chorus, and bridge parts, but it is a very different nature of song from what my guitarist friend comes up with.

I suppose it could a difference in taste as I generally listen to hard rock and riffy stuff like that (Red Fang and Truckfighters comes to mind as they were my jam today) but I do wonder if our respective choice of instrument affects it as well; guitarists feel like intricate chord work is sort of the height and epitome of good and cool playing whereas a bassist might be more impressed and happy with cool lines and riffs to fill out the sonic space from our usual lack of chords.