Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass Building 101

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by callmeMrThumbs, Oct 7, 2005.

1. callmeMrThumbs

callmeMrThumbs Guest

Oct 6, 2005
    Omaha, NE
    Hi, I'm new here and was hoping to get some helpful tips from the wise bass guitar luthiers of late. I've been messing around with the Dudepit for some time and haven't really had very good responses...haha.

So here's the deal. I'm 16 and I've been playing bass for almost 6 years now. I play an Ibanez EDA-905 (5 string fretted) and a Peavey Milestone III (defretted, painted, and "extended"). I've done a lot of crazy things to my Peavey, obvioulsy. I think it was just to kind of get the feel for how a bass guitar really works. I wanted a fretless, so I took the frets off with a rusty screwdriver and put on a few coats of urythane. I wanted more than 20 frets...so I built a fingerboard extension out of poplar (bad choice...gotta learn somehow). And I wanted it to look like art, so I made it "art" by painting a white rose down the fingerboard...and then adding several more coats of urythane.

Anyway, that's what I've done...and it all really worked out quite nicely. But now I've been playing with the idea of building my own bass guitar. Not a Warmoth assembly. I want to carve the body and neck by hand. Obviously, this is going to be difficult, long, frustrating, painstaking work. I understand this...but I've learned a few things over the years that I think will help me.

To sum up this novel that I've been writing, I was just hoping someone might have a few words of advice, encouragement, discouragement, complaints, etc., etc. That'd be really great.