bass cabs as hi-fi speakers...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Magman, Jun 3, 2002.

1. I ran my cd player through my bass amp (set flat) and avatar 2x10 cab the other day, just to see what it sounded like, and test out some sine tones on it. sounded surprisingly good! Basically, a crisp and clear PA cabinet.
    Despite the mono output, I was so surpised I started playing all sorts of music through it because the 'oomph' in the bass and lower mids was so difference that typical (cheap I guess) home hi-fi set ups I'm used to.
    It was like "oh.....*this* is how rock music is supposed to sound!" - the drums and bass guitar really come across really well. I started hearing more details in the music (presumably with the extra volume). And my own electronic-industrial music: I could really start to hear what it would sound like in a club and it really came alive.
    ...and all this from some cheap bass cab????

I'm sure the sound isn;t flat, I;ve havn;t a/bed with my reasonably infiniti hi-fi speakers, or my Grado labs headphones (which are very good) and I'm sure problems would be revealed...
    but they don't have the 'balls' , as it were (and of course you don;t want to go loud on headphones)
    Oviously the bass cab is overkill for home use, unless you like tinnitus - barely have to turn up to be at listening volume - though that means it just eats up bass freqs and spits them out, no matter how extreme the music.

...Still, I'm now thinking - why would I spend money on expensive hi-fi bookshelf cabs when you can get hi quality PA cabs and a 200watt power amp that really kick, and feel very solid even at low volumes.
    the avatar did not immediatley scream 'mush' or 'harsh' with music put through it. It sorted of said "hey...turn me time!!!" ;-)