Bass Central...and 2 other I have MIJ Fender GAS

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by dave120, Nov 1, 2005.

1. dave120

Jun 27, 2005
    Central Florida
    Well me and my brother made a complete round of Orlando area music stores yesterday. I went to Sam Ash to get some strings because they're the only place around here that has my Nickel Rotos in stock regularly. Then I decided to take the new SX over to Bass Central to have their guy look at it and see how much of a setup it still needs. My setup skills are getting better but I'm still not good enough to where it never needs tweaking yet. That is an IMPRESSIVE store too. I've never seen so many nice (yet expensive) basses in one place. Too bad I'm a broke college student with no money for any of that nice gear! Nice guys down there too I expected to be heckled and ridiculued for bringing my $100 SX in there but they were nice as can be and very helpful to me. Maybe they laughed at me after I left, I don't know :D I need to take my bass back there Saturday and they'll set it up nice for me, I can't wait to see how nice this thing will play when someone who knows what they're doing takes a crack at it.

Anyways to the point of this post, after that stop at Bass Central my brother wanted to go to Guitar Center to try out a Les Paul or something so as always I ventured over to the Rumble Room to see what was new since my last visit. I got lucky and it was a slow day so there was nobody else in there to deal with. After playing every Squire and Fender in there I'm pretty happy with my SX purchase as a good medium between the two and for half the cost of the Squires. The American Fender basses were nicely setup, but I have no money for one of those. The MIMs were marginally better than my SX (but I did say better, in some ways anyways...I don't like the finish on most Fender and squire necks).