Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

bass chords

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by patrickroberts, Mar 9, 2001.

1. patrickroberts

patrickroberts

Aug 21, 2000
    Wales, UK
    are there such things as bass chords..if so...where can i learn how to play them?

2. Cornbread

Cornbread

Jun 20, 2000
    Lawrence, Ma
    Yes. Check out Michael Dimin's forum and webpage for some great examples.

3. get an album from oteil burbridge, he plays with new allman bros band, aquarium rescue unit and i beliee he has some solo work out. he is very good at chords on the bass.

4. maxvalentino

maxvalentino Endorsing Artist Godin Guitars/ Thomastik-Infeld

it is totally possible to play chords on the bass. I do all the time. I am a solo bassist....and do A LOT of chord and chord melody playing.
    How to learn them? It takes a bit of time. Michael Dimnin (sorry about that spelling) does have a book out which I think is called "The Chordal Way" (check his website for this)and that might be one of the few method or instruction books I know of on doing bass chords....
    The way I learned was thru the study of Harmony. Chords are formed by playing 3 or more selected intervals from a scale...just like a guitarist or keyboardist might do. Find a harmony study book, one that shows the formulas for different chord types (maj, minor, dim, aug, 7 etc.) the formula is the 1.3.5.7 interval ratio (that's a 7th chord)...for a minor it's 1,b3,5.....etc. etc.
    Then find those notes and intervals on the bass. Make a few charts showing fingering forms. Draw up inversions of those chords (moving the root note from the lowest position). Develop a vocabulary of those chords.