Bass Chords

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by WordIsBorn79, Dec 12, 2002.

1. WordIsBorn79

Jan 10, 2001
    Phoenix, AZ
    Hey guys...I like to play all types of chords on my bass. I know, I know, I'm a bassist, but there's somthing warm and soulful when I play them on my 4 string. Does anyone else play like this? If so, I'd like to hear how you do it, and any tricks of the trade. I mainly use Major, Minor, Power, and Suspended chords, however, I try a ton of others. Get back to me guys. :)

Van Leibensperger A.K.A. WordIsBorn79
  2. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Check out Mike Dimin's forum(it's in the "Ask The Pros" section of Talk Bass).

I believe Mike plays his chordal stuff on a 4-string.
    (More challenging that way)
  3. ampeglb100

Oct 1, 2002
    Portland, OR
  4. WordIsBorn79

Jan 10, 2001
    Phoenix, AZ
    Good stuff Andy. You got skills, my man.:cool:
  5. Swerve

Nov 22, 2002
    Portland, Oregon
    I've always played chords on bass, they sound awesome. I never use a pick though just my fingers. Also whenever I slap sometimes I'll "rake" a chord with the back of my fingernails.
  6. 5stringDNA

Oct 10, 2002
    Englewood, CO
    I chord a little bit-I despise the picked bass sound, so i don't strum, i pluck two or three strings a time, dunno if this is right, I should ask my teacher, lol. I don't know a lot of chords, but I really liek the thick and rich "soulful" sound jsut warms you to tears, lol.:D
  7. WordIsBorn79

Jan 10, 2001
    Phoenix, AZ
    I usually use my ring, index, and middle fingers, hitting all notes in the chord at once. Also, I use the strumming technique mentioned earlier by one of you guys. I also get better results playing higher up on the neck. Man, how I wish I has a 6 or 7 string. :p
  8. Damn . There I was thinking I was the only person who used chords !.

I usually strum or tap or cross-pick 'em.
  9. just_a_poser

Apr 20, 2002