Bass Clef??

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by russianspy, Oct 20, 2000.

1. russianspy

Oct 20, 2000
    Nashville, TN
    i've been playing bass for about a year and guitar for about two years now and can read tabs instantly. in my high school band i was playing my friends bass, and the band director heard me playin. he thought i was pretty good and wanted to know if i wanted to be in jazz band next year when the current bass player graduates. he said i would need to be able to read well and it would be good to start now to help me sight read different pieces. my question is, what are the notes of the lines on the bass clef. i can already read keys and sharps and flats, i just need to know the notes. thanks advance for your help!!
  2. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Here is a crappy representation of the Bass clef:

Hope that helps!
  3. russianspy

Oct 20, 2000
    Nashville, TN
    Thanks man!!! That's exactly what I needed!!!!
  4. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

No problem. Good luck with the reading!
  5. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    Here's a good mneumonic device.

The notes on the lines, starting from the bottom and working up, are:

The notes in the spaces, starting from the bottom and working up, are:

Also, if you know the treble clef well, and you're good at your intervals, you can also remember that the first ledger line (the little free-floating line just hanging out outside the staff) above the bass clef, is middle C. (So, hence the space underneath that ledger line, is B, and then the first line underneath that B, is A, and so on....).
  6. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member