1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bass Dealers in Pittsburgh Area?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by AaronG, Jan 4, 2016.

1. AaronG

AaronG

Jan 4, 2016
    Hi everyone I was wondering if anyone had recommendations for shops that sell double basses in the Pittsburgh area or within a few hours driving distance. I've been playing electric bass for a few years, but have always want to play the upright and finally have the money to get one. I'm pretty much a complete newbie to double bass (rented one for 3 months awhile back) so I'd need a shop that could set it up for me and possibly have someone proficient in double bass to play the instruments for me so I could hear how they sound. I'm looking to play mainly jazz and some classical so I'm looking for fully carved instruments or possibly a hybrid. Thank you for the help!

2. KUNGfuSHERIFF

KUNGfuSHERIFF Supporting Member

Feb 8, 2002
    Upstate NY
    Bruce Wallace lived in Pittsburgh before he did the snowbird thing and headed to points south. Maybe he knows something.

There really isn't much in your part of PA. If you can drive to Cincy there's the Bass Cellar and Nick Lloyd, both of whom have stellar reputations. I also have a lead in Oberlin that I was going to follow up on if I make it out there this summer.

What's your budget?

3. AaronG

AaronG

Jan 4, 2016
    Hey thanks for the reply. It looks like Nick Lloyd may be a bit out of my price range, but the Bass Cellar seems to have some stuff I could afford. Comfortably my budget is around 5k, but I could stretch that up to 6 or 7 if there's something I really like.

4. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg

Jul 7, 2004
    Chicago
    Look up Mike McGee in the Pittsburgh area. Good luthier and he may have something.