Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass Distortion

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by BenHack, Nov 15, 2000.

1. Hey fellow bass dudes.

OK here's the deal. I just started playing with a band that has some heavy influences. Seeing as we're just a 3 peice (at the moment) I wanted to be able to use a distorted sound when the guitarist takes a lead break. I'm interested in getting a sound kinda like the Tim C from RATM and some of the Primus stuff. I really don't want to loose any of the bottom end and can't afford to bi-amp. Has anyone got any suggestions? Is the Sans amp bass driver likely to do the job.

Also when I play through my envelope filter there is a huge drop in the bottom end and in volume. I can't fix this by adjusting the blend control. ANy suggestions, Cheers and keep groovin.

Ben

2. biscuit

biscuit

Mar 6, 2000
    Virginia, USA
    The sans amp will probably not do what you need. It only provides a little dirt like a speaker cab does. It does not actually give you distortion.

I have read that Les Claypool often uses an Electro-Harmonix Big Muff distorton. It has a rauncy tone with a fat low end. The DOD Bass Grunge is good, but it has been discontinued I think. Larry Graham, the man who invented slap style, uses a Danelectro Fabtone with the bass all the way up and the treble at 12 o'clock. DOD and Boss both make bass distortion pedals with big bottom. Try them both and see if you like their top end (I did not). I have a TubeWorks Real Tube pedal with a 12AT7 tube that I use for light overdrive. I also have a Boss Hyper-Fuzz that I use for thickly distorted tones.

Distortion inherently cuts low end so look for a pedal with bass boost to compensate for this. Most pedals with separate bass and treble allow you to boost and cut. I hope this helps.