1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass exercise strategies

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by elarue, Aug 17, 2018.

1. elarue

elarue

Jul 25, 2018
    I have a background in music - I have a degree from Berklee (I was a vocal principal, not a bass principal), I've played upright bass in high school and some in college, and I've studied quite a bit of theory and ear training. But now I'm getting really in depth into actually playing bass guitar. I've got a book that I've borrowed from the library, and it's got a lot of info, but of course, like most bass methods, it's written assuming you know nothing about music to begin with.

From what I've been able to gather, the elements of actually playing bass can be broken down into four broad categories:
    1) Left-hand playing (actually fingering the notes)
    2) Right-hand fingerpicking
    3) Right-hand pick playing - downward only
    4) Right-hand pick playing - alternate picking

For someone in my situation, what would you recommend to improve in each of these areas? Are the same exercises used to teach music to someone with no musical background still the best way for me to build stamina in my arms and hands? Or are there specific drills out there that focus more on finger dexterity and moving around the fretboard and the strings?

Thanks guys and girls! :)

2. reddog

reddog Supporting Member

Mar 5, 2013
    Philly burbs
    pick playing ... not my thing.

I do love me some Bobby Vega, tho.

Google yielded this, too.
    • Chris Squire (Yes)

• Noel Redding (Hendrix)

• Paul McCartney (Beatles)

• Phil Lesh (Dead)

• Scott Tunes (Zappa)

3. elarue

elarue

Jul 25, 2018
    What did you google exactly? Bass players who play(ed) with a pick?

Also, since fingerpicking is more your thing, how did you improve at it?

4. reddog

reddog Supporting Member

Mar 5, 2013
    Philly burbs