1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bass fills???

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by qcbassman, Oct 10, 2013.

1. qcbassman

qcbassman

Jan 12, 2013
    USA
    I am listening to and playing a lot of praise and worship music and some of the bassists who play more than just four on the floor root notes put what sounds to me like a drum fill at the ends of phrases - only on bass, not on drums. Syncopated, pentatonic or triads are what I gear mostly. So, I have searched high and low on the web for secrets to cracking this elusive ornamentation to no avail. Does anyone have any good resource for developing this technique?

If it helps answer my question, I am pretty new to the bass, but have a music degree (saxophone). I appreciate Victor Wooten and the like, but my personal goals as a bassist are to be a solid sideman who can get around the instrument. Any direction, suggestions for material and players to listen to are so much appreciated!

Thanks so much!

2. check out abraham loboriel (sorry i probs spelled his name wrong) he is a killer gospel bass player, probably better than victor wooten too. (hahah that will get some flak)

3. Finding anything on "how to play" Praise music on the Internet - beyond the few TB players here is next to impossible. I've experimented with chromatic and diatonic runs as fills, but, still fall into the four on the floor group. Eight to the bar does slip into some of our songs.

I've been able to ask Google for videos on the songs we play and have had good luck finding fake chord and videos, but, very few suggestions on how to play Praise. Roots and a few runs like I mentioned above seem to be the accepted format. Heavy on roots, light on the runs.