Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass Fingers?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by ChuckBassChick, Jan 1, 2005.

1. ChuckBassChick

ChuckBassChick Guest

Jan 1, 2005
    so cal
    Well, I've been playing bass guitar for about 6 months now. And when I play, I like to have my nails cut short because my nails hit the strings and it sounds weird. I don't know. But then when I play for only 30 minutes, I get blood blisters on my index finger. Right now, I only play with my index finger, but should I just start teaching myself to use two fingers? Or should I try a pick?
    So do you use a pick or your fingers? Also, I watch some of these bass players in these bands and it's looks like their playing chords on their bass. I was just wondering what's up with that?
    heh. Alright thanks for any help, I'm still learning about bass so thanks for putting up with me.

2. Charr

Charr

May 14, 2004
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    well, u've allways used a pick, but i find that i try to use my fingers more and more - i just gives me a great natural sound :)
    The pick is still at big part of my sound band wise, i play Black metal, so the pick sound accent's the snarling biting, violent feeling perfect!
    But when i play something like rock, Blues, Jazz, Funk, Whatever i try to use my fingers as much as possible!
    Try to use 2-3 or even all 4 fingers, you can play faster, and longer cause you wont overload your index finger!

Good luck, and take it slowly at first - when you get blisters you just set yourself back a couple of days! so stop BEFORE you get them :)

3. NOISE!

NOISE!

Jun 20, 2004
    In your mind
    After awhile you will get calluses on your finger and you wont get blisters. Try playing a little softer and turn your volume up. Playing with two fingers might not be a bad idea, nether is pick use, and thumb use.