Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

bass for ROCK

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by MCBTunes, Feb 7, 2005.

1. What kind of bass should a player that is playing rock go for? I mean like Dream theatre, pink floyd, nirvana, to some heavier stuff like, Three Days Grace/some punk stuff?

Active, Passive?
    deep like a lakland, full like a P, attacking like a sterling?

I'm not technically in this band yet, our music hasnt started so it could very from Pink floyd, harder rock, to punkish.

I understand you want a P-Bass or music man thing for punk but what about the others? Those types are kinda deep, would a Lakland bemore suited to me than a sterling? SHould I look into a sub because it is passive?

2. P-bass with nickel roundwounds...passive...

if you want a pre-amp, get a good external with a DI (like a Sadowsky), it'll be a great investment

I believe this would fit nicely to anything that you may want to do in this genre.

3. Slater

Slater Bye Millen! Hello?

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
  4. Jonki

Jonki I will not slap my Bee!

Oct 14, 2003
    Arendal, Norway
    p-bass, good and fat tone :)

5. [​IMG]

My Precision, Badass 2, Basslines QP, a great rock bass IMO.

6. Also, a Jazz can be used for rock as well.

russjm, for a second there I thought that your bass had the trans brown(rootbeer I think it was called) finish that one sees on 70's Fenders once in a while. God, I wish they'd bring that color back. Sweet P anyways.

7. Luckydog

Luckydog Supporting Member

Dec 25, 1999
    I'd go for a P (sorry) if I were you. Jazz or many others will do it, but P will nail it quicker and more completely. Pink Floyd- passive P, maple neck, flatwounds with a pick.

8. can I ask why you guys suggest going passive? I thought the active only made it louder and gave it more power?