Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass from the states

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by daasbraad, May 25, 2005.

1. daasbraad

daasbraad

May 13, 2005
    The Netherlands
    Good day bass lovers,

A short introduction first as this is my first post here. My name is Daasbraad, from the Netherlands. 22 years of age and playing bass since I'm 18. I have owned and still own a total of 2 basses. A Yamaha RBX 260 and an Ibanez ATK 310.

Being a poor student, I really can't afford the high end basses I see here regularly (Sadowsky, Lakland, etc.) and to be frank, I don't think I play well enough to deserve one of those.
    But lately I've been having some major G.A.S. for a Geddy Lee Jazz bass. Those things cost a good 900 Euro's here in Europe. That's about $ 1100! . Cruising on the net, I found that in the States, a Geddy goes for about $ 650 and that is a mere 530 euro! Being the poor student I am, do any of you have any idea how to get an American Geddy to the Netherlands without me leaving the country?

Thanks a bunch in advance!

P.S. English isn't my first language, but I hope you guys catch my drift

2. toad

toad

Jun 26, 2002
    NYC
    Ebay? If you can get the seller to ship to Europe.

Considering the Geddy is made in Japan anyway, maybe a MIJ 75RI ordered straight from Japan might fill your needs. It won't have the BAII bridge, the shaved neck, and the 70s bridge positioning, but it should be alot less expensive than 1000 EUR and you have more color options.

3. Stox

Stox

Mar 18, 2005
    London UK