1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bass guitar care

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by juancho, Apr 8, 2006.

1. juancho

juancho

Mar 22, 2006
    Argentina
    Im a newbie and It hasn´t been a month yet since I got my first bass, so.....Which are the basics of bass-caring? what would you recomend doing?

2. kserg

kserg

Feb 20, 2004
    San Jose, CA
    Well first, for next time what you somewhat want to do is post in right section. This kind belongs in Basses [BG] located here:

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=8

Its not big deal, the mods will probably move it soon. You will probably get a better response to your questions in relevant forums. Instead its me, who is pretty dumb as you will learn soon enough.

For your question, I found that a lot of people have their own opinion on how to take care of their bass. You can always invest in gig bag or hard-case which will protect it from damage. A lot of people clean thread board, I personally don’t do anything. I have a gig bag but I usually carry my bass in my hands. I figure if it doesn’t look like it was used it was not used properly. I believe my hero jazzbo has similar idea as I don’t think he uses cases either and from what I remember never even changed strings (I miss that guy, he needs to post more). I know several bassists who send their basses to someone to work on it, basically clean it, re string it, wax it, and adjust it. That’s another thing; you might want to adjust the thread to what is comfortable for you but doesn’t make it buzz.

Hope that helps, I think you have to choose for yourself though.