1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bass Guitar for Dummies

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by T-Forty, Apr 1, 2009.

1. T-Forty

T-Forty Guest

Mar 14, 2008
    I've read a few posts on here saying that it is a great book. I am by no means a beginner. I am a quite proficient rock bass player with a pick.

I want to expand though. My finger plucking technique is very basic and I only use it on slower songs without much movement between strings. I'd like to become a wizard at finger playing and eventually drop the pick unless a song calls for it.

In addition to this I'd like to vastly improve my improvisational skills.

Does Bass for Dummies come with a DVD? If not could someone recommend the best DVD for fingering (pizzicato?) and improvisational skills?

Thanks dudes!

2. guizzy

guizzy

Nov 17, 2008
    Montreal
    I am not familiar with the english version, but the french version, "La Guitare Basse pour les nuls" had a CD (not a DVD) with it. I don't know if the french and english versions are the same translated in another language, but it is indeed VERY comprehensive and densely packed with useful information, one of the best training manual I've ever read.

3. T-Forty

T-Forty Guest

Mar 14, 2008
    Merci beaucoup mon chum!

A CD would be good, but I'd definitely like some visual instruction.

Also...Habs fan??

I was in Montreal 2 weekends ago to go to the habs/leafs game that we pitifully lost.

Good to see someone on here from La Belle Province

4. guizzy

guizzy

Nov 17, 2008
    Montreal
    Of course I am a Habs fan! Good luck come saturday Although... Oh, that's right! You're out of the playoffs already! ;)

5. CharlieDog

CharlieDog

May 29, 2008
    Atlanta, GA