1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass/Guitar store road trip

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bassmommy, May 3, 2021 at 10:29 AM.

1. I'm a mom of a bassist, and I will be driving him halfway across the country to college in a couple of months. Instead of the typical road trip stopping at sites and scenery, he wants to stop at music stores along the way.

So... I'm looking for suggestions of great brick and mortar guitar/bass stores to stop at in the Midwest and Northeast. Cities that we could possibly go through include St. Louis, Indy, Louisville, Columbus, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Pittsburgh, Buffalo, Albany, ending in Boston at Berklee. We will probably not go through NYC (as I don't really want to deal with driving in NYC). Our exact route will depend on what stores we decide to visit.

Any suggestions? He doesn't really want Guitar Centers, unless it's something special.

Thanks all!

2. godofthunder59

godofthunder59 God of Thunder and Rock and Roll Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2006
    Rochester NY USA
    Endorsing Cataldo Basses, Whirlwind products, Thunderbucker pickups
    The Great Great House of Guitars Rochester Ny. A truly unique experience.

Rezdog, getbent, Thundertips and 22 others like this.
  3. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Supporting Member

sorry, i don't have any music store recommendations, but: i'd recommend you as the "mom of the year" for taking on a trip dedicated to such fun indulgences! way to go, mom! :thumbsup:

4. JxBass

JxBass Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2008
    Guitar Villa in Bethlehem, PA was founded by John Slog in the late 80s'. John was a collector and dealer in vintage basses who wrote monthly articles for Bass Player and Vintage Guitar magazine in which he would feature the history of iconic basses.

Guitar Villa

Last edited: May 3, 2021 at 2:42 PM
    mikewalker, DJ Bebop and s_wood like this.
  5. Cheez