Bass + hardware build

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Technicality, Mar 12, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Technicality

Technicality

Feb 10, 2011
    I've been wanting to build a bass ever since I started playing, as I really like making things. A while back I built an electric ukulele as a sort of test run (which looks like this: http://www.idlecreations.com/loz/bassbuild/euke.jpg), and the parts I most enjoyed working on were the bridge plate and pickups.

With this in mind I decided I wanted to build a bass and build all the hardware to go with it, and to make matters more complicated if possible I'd like it to disassemble into something that fits into hand luggage (though I may abandon this if it becomes impractical). For the latter I'm thinking a slightly shorter neck, longer body and headless design might get me close to full scale.

I started with some headless tuner experiments and eventually built this prototype:
    tuner.jpg
    This worked, but was quite hard on the fingers to turn. Thankfully the folks over at the Hardware forum had some advice on how I could improve it (Thread link here: Headless tuner mechanism). In particular many thanks to @Gilmourisgod for sharing some steinberger info

From there I ordered some super fine pitch screws and experimented with reducing friction. In the end I found that brass was not actually that great in terms of friction on the threads under load, so I made a block that has a big hole in it and fitted a piece of delrin in there, and then threaded the delrin instead of the brass, which made a big difference:
    tuner_block.jpg

Next I made a set of four knobs by cutting them out of some brass bar with a little home made CNC mill (link for the curious: Garden Shed CNC). I initially threaded them for a smaller screw so that I could attach them to a drill and smooth and polish them up a bit without damaging the fine pitch screws.
    tuners01.jpg