1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass Head Recommendations

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by StePearce, Nov 6, 2013.

1. StePearce

StePearce

Nov 6, 2013
    Hey guys,
    I'm new to bass amps etc, I'm predominantly a guitarist but have started playing bass for 2 bands now and am looking for a cheap but decent bass head (if that's possible!) I'm thinking of getting the head first as a lot of places we currently play already have cabs available.
    Ideally my budget would be max of £150 for something 2nd hand. It would need to be loud enough to be able to be heard over drums in venues where the bass isn't DIed as well.

If anyone could suggest any good 2nd hand heads within that price range or provide some links to eBay/gumtree etc or are even selling one then let me know.

Cheers in advance for your help.

2. What cab are you going to be using?

3. StePearce

StePearce

Nov 6, 2013
    Not sure yet, I'm thinking of buying a head first as I can't afford both at the moment. That way I've at least got a head to turn up with rather than constantly being that dick that asks to use someone else's bass amp.
    At the moment a lot of where we play we use headliners cabs so it would be a mix.

4. StePearce

StePearce

Nov 6, 2013
    I've been offered the Warwick Pro Fet 3.2 for £70 but read a lot of reviews about it being too quiet.

5. Tough call. The cab matters more to your sound than the amp. Also with your budget you need to scout local used options as shipping is going to kill you. Go do some research on what is near to you, and report back for more input.

6. StePearce

StePearce

Nov 6, 2013
    What's this one like? Have you ever used it?
    This is my main option at the moment, already had a look around, the rest tend to be 150W which wouldn't really punch through enough for what I need.

7. iriegnome