Bass Headphone Rig

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by TofuDumpling, Mar 21, 2011.

1. Hi, I'm new to the forum and new to playing Bass. I've been playing for about 3 months now.

I currently use an old Crate practice amp, but I live in an apartment and the neighbors hate it when I turn the volume even a little louder. I've tried using the headphone out on the amp, but it sounds really bad. So I want to make some sort of headphone rig. Here's what I've considered so far:

1. Get a better practice amp and use the headphone out

2. Use a direct injection box, like the Behringer BDI21 in conjunction with a headphone amp, like the Behringer MICROMON MA400.

3. Use a small mixer which has a built in headphone amp (not sure if this will even work).

4. Use a multieffects pedal with a headphone out. One's available in music stores near me are the Korg AX3B and Zoom B1 or B2.

Given that I'm just starting out, I dont want to spend too much on the setup as I want to upgrade once I get better. I'm into all kinds of music, but I don't see myself using too many effects - I think something to model different amp sounds might be better.

Does anyone have any experience/comments/opinions on any of the above setups?

Thanks.

2. GrowlerBox

GrowlerBox

Feb 10, 2010
    Nude Zealand
    Any of those options would work, or there are also bass-specific headhone amps, such as the Vox bassplug (?exact name). The advantage of the effects boxes, of course, is that you also get to try out a range of effects that you may like to use as they are, or obtain dedicated pedals for higher quality/flexibility. However, that way, madness lies .... :eek:

3. If you have an iPhone/iPod touch there are some decent apps you can get. That's what I use.

4. BartmanPDX

BartmanPDX Supporting Member