1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bass Heads for Acoustic 410 Cab.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Allmanfan456, Apr 19, 2009.

1. Allmanfan456

Allmanfan456

Jan 23, 2009
    Connecticut
    Hey fellow TBers. I have come across a problem. I was playing a gig recently with my acoustic rig. (Acoustic B200H, Acoustic 410 Cab) and it started cutting out and whenever I would play a note it sounded like complete garbage. (It has a built in clip) So I had to turn down. Which was very low.

My main concern is that I will blow out my amp unless I get a new head with out the clipping thing. (unless they all have that. I dunno I'm a gear noob and dont know too much about gear so please bear with me!) So any suggestions for a good bass amp head that would go good along with an acoustic 410 cab that can also reach a good loud volume? Im looking for a good pretty gainey tone. I play in a metal band by the way. As for price range. Name anything right now. Im just trying to get some ideas down right now.

2. Gearhead17

Gearhead17 Supporting Member

May 4, 2006
    Roselle, IL
    You have a solid state head and you are not going to get a high gain tone out of that setup. If you are looking for growl and edge to your tone, you definitely need to get a separate overdrive pedal to achieve that sound. Solid state amps stay clean all the time - some can growl a little bit depending on the design and the tubes inside.