1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bass help for new bass player

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by lindsaya, Oct 29, 2000.

1. lindsaya

lindsaya

Oct 29, 2000
    Hi,

I am on looking at buying my first bass guitar, but need some help!

I have been playing 6-string guitar for roughly 8 years, and am now looking to learn bass with my band. We are only starting out, but have the aim of low-key gigging within the next couple of years. I would also use a bass for recording purposes.

Sound-wise, I need the bass to primarly excel in rock (but not heavy rock!). I also like jazzy bass, although I'd only want to experiment in this area for the foreseeable future.

So, what shall I go for? I need something that sounds good, and will play well (that goes without saying, doesn't it?!), but staying in the sub-£300 price bracket. Saying that, I don't really want to upgrade in a year or two!

Tall order, perhaps. But I'm really relying on your help out there, as I'm clueless when it comes to basses!

Thanks for any help you can pass on to me!

Regards,
    Allastair.

2. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    There are plenty of cheap starter instruments in the sub-300 category from such names as Cort, Dean, Ibanez, Washburn and Yamaha. Generally, you get what you pay for, so caveat emptor.

My personal recommendation would be to buy a made-in-Mexico Fender Precision or Jazz Bass. It's a decently made starter bass that has an excellent resale value, particularly when compared with the brands mentioned above. If you buy the Fender, upgrading won't be a problem. Believe me, once you get wrapped up in the bass world (or these message boards), you will want to upgrade! No one disrespects convention like bassists.