Bass improvising/jamming

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by tallicabassist0, Feb 16, 2005.

1. tallicabassist0

Feb 16, 2005
    hey, ive been playing bass for almost 2 yrs now and ive basicly been playing a lot of metallica since i am truely influenced by them the most.

but my 2 friends, one a guitarist and one a drummer, wanna start a band. theres only one problem, i cannot improvise at all and also when it comes time when they come over to jam ill not know what to play or do

so i really need help on how to improvise, make my own bass lines, and how to play along with other ppl (improvising)
  2. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
    That is really the difference between being a musician and a mimic. To be able to create and improvise your own bass lines you really need to have a "toolbox". A set of resources to draw upon. Developing this toolbox takes work. You will get out of it what you put into it. If you have the right tools, it makes the job a lot easier

Bass players need a good foundation in music theory. It provides you with the needed information to draw upon, the notes you need to play, the notes that are in the chords of the jam. It provides you with the scales to creat flowing, musical lines.

Techniques - there are various techniques from slap and pop to tapping, playing with a pick or playing fingerstyle. These can help you develop the "sound" that you are looking for. There is also fretting hand technique which is vital to get clarity, speed, efficiency in your playing.