Bass in College

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by kwelch28, Jan 8, 2002.

1. kwelch28

Aug 31, 2000
    Allegany, NY
    I want to attend school for electric bass, but I don't know what to expect. If anyone has or are attending college for electric bass could you please fill me in on what it takes, how it is and what to do after?
  2. Andrew Jones

Andrew Jones Banned

Feb 28, 2001
    Northampton Mass
    Im a student at berklee collage of music.Electric is my magor and double bass is my minor (not really how the school defines it but that pretty much whats goin on)Im 34 years old and for fifteen years before school I worked as a bass player in the boston area.
    This is what you can expect...... WORK!!!!
    lots of it. more than normal school ( unless your pre med).
    think about it you have to go to class, do the homework and then practice as much as you can just so you can play better (I try to pratice at least 4 hours a day )thats pretty much 16 hour days. though I take sundays off to avoid burnout.

hope this helps

3. Andrew Jones

Andrew Jones Banned

Feb 28, 2001
    Northampton Mass
    Ed speaks the truth.Thats the world I live in.

Hey Ed, when were you at berklee exactly? we might have some mutual friends Mike Rivard,Tom Heddan ?was a MP&E magor/bass player 81-85 he was my nieghbor and the first big Impact on me musically he taught me the first bass line I knew the theme to Barney Miller
  4. jasonbraatz

Oct 18, 2000
    Oakland, CA
    i'm going to school for bass (both upright and electric) at the university of wisconsin - madison.