1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass input from gui****

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Adam Bomb, Jul 19, 2008.

1. Adam Bomb

Adam Bomb

Mar 26, 2008
    Bezerkely, CA
    Hey:

My guitarist has a strong opinion that, in a particular song, I play the E on my A string rather than my D. His reason is that he prefers the tone on that string, which I can understand. My reason for playing it on the D string is that my hand is in the proper/easiest place for all of the *other* notes I am playing in that song. (Like low notes on my E string.)

The gui**** wrote this song, including the bass part (I am new to the band and learning their songs). I have assured him that when we gig and record the tone of my D-string E will be fine. So, we have covered all of the issues, but he still won't completely leave it alone. (Neither of us wants me to play this E on my E string.)

So I am posting to reality check how much input it is customary for one player to have on another player's technique. Everyone needs to live with other people's boundaries, and I am comfortable getting fired from the band for playing my instrument my way. But I should also point out that I am a beginner on the bass.

Again, that particular note, which is the core of the song, does sound a little bit fatter on the string he wants me to play it on.

Don't they say that there's no money past the 5th fret?

This is as much a question of etiquette as technique.

Thanks!

--Bomb :bassist:

2. Ran into the same issue, the gui**** was right. The higher note on the lower string sounded beefier.

3. fretlessman71

fretlessman71 Still beats havin' a job Supporting Member

Aug 8, 2005
    FoCo, NoCo