1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass kit advice

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by il_danza, Nov 26, 2018.

1. Hi,
    I was thinkig to build myself a bass and my budget is very low (like sub 200/250€).
    (yes, I know a lot of people ask abut this but I haven't found answers for my questions, or some are dated)
    My idea was to use one of this cheap ebay kit and mod it with new pickups. I was thinking to pick a precision bass-like bass and add some others pickups, like a pj bass, or some humbuckers. So, the electronic is not a problem because I will replace it completely whit something I will DIY(I have some experience in building audio mixers & co so this will not be a problem) and I was also thinking in searching some used good pickups.
    The goal isn't make a spectacular looking bass(probably I will left it barewood or use only some oil to get a better wood grain, nothing too fancy) , I just wish it sounds good.

So, the idea of using a cheap bass and upgrade it whit new electronics(ad probably bridge) is this good idea? or I should pick another way, like a cheap used bass and upgrade it?

and do you know some good/decent kit for like ~70€? (I don't think they exist but also only a neck and a body for this price would be perfect)

Thanks for your time and for the answers :)

ps: the idea was something like this:

pps:I'm from europe so if you know some shop here for kits...

2. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Supporting Member

it's a great idea! :hyper:

you'll have to search TB and/or google the kit thing --- there are a lot of them and several have been featured here in threads with successful builds/mods/etc.

experienced TB members will chime in...

be sure to share pics and progress. good luck with your kit build! :thumbsup:

il_danza likes this.
  3. MrLenny1

MrLenny1

Jan 17, 2009
    N.H.